Home >> Artists >> Artists C >> Canadian Brass >> Canadian Brass Biography

Canadian Brass Biography

Browse Artists: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9
Products Biography

Canadian Brass is a brass quintet founded by Charles Daellenbach, Stuart Laughton, and Gene Watts in 1970. In addition to maintaining a heavy touring schedule, the Canadian Brass have recorded nearly seventy albums. They have commissioned, performed, and recorded hundreds of transcriptions and original works for brass quintet. They are best known for their skill in seamlessly crossing between classical and jazz styles. They are also known for their attire, consisting of black suits coupled with white gym shoes.

The current members are: Chuck Daellenbach (tuba), Justin Emerich (trumpet), Gene Watts (trombone), and Bernhard Scully (horn). Past members include: Stuart Laughton (1970–1971, 2003–2005), Josef Burgstaller (2001–2004), Jeff Nelsen (2000–2004), Ryan Anthony (2000–2003), Frederick Mills (1972–1996), Ronald Romm (1971–2000), David Ohanian (1986–1998), Martin Hackleman (1983–1986, Jens Lindemann(1996–2001), Christopher Cooper (1998–2000) and Graeme Page (1970–1983). The Trumpet "Dream Team," a group in the band to fill the trumpet positions was created in 2006. The members are: Ryan Anthony and Jeroen Berwaerts, and previous members Josef Burgstaller, Ronald Romm and Stuart Laughton.
Over 140,000 Items In Stock and Ready to Ship