Edgard Varése
Rollover image for closeup

Edgard Varése

Item #: HL.00335012

Our Price:

No Rating Unrated ( Be the first to review this item )

Written by Adam Clayson.

Omnibus Press. With Softcover. 5.25x8.5 inches. 208 pages. Published by Omnibus Press. (HL.00335012)

Free Shipping on this item in orders above $199

In Stock
Usually ships within 1-2 business days

Found in:  Modern Biography Books


One of the most influential, innovative, and inspiring composers of the 20th Century, Edgard Varése responded to advances in modern science in a climate of global conflict to create music that broke down the fragile remnants of diatonic tonality and embraced 'noise'. His intellectual shift from the dominance of melodic progression to a more textural approach to composition would see him revered by such cultural figureheads as Igor Stravinsky, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Frank Zappa, and others. His 'Poem Electronique' was one of the first examples of a purely artificial, studio-made composition, and would act as a blueprint for later electroacoustic explorations. The work Ionisation for percussion ensemble included air-raid sirens and was described by the New York Times as a 'terrible and marvelous work'. The 1954 premier of Deserts caused an uproar comparable to the infamous response to The Rite Of Spring some fifty years earlier. Edgard Varese analyses the life and work of this giant of the avant-garde, and delves deeply into his mysterious and eclectic world.

Over 140,000 Items In Stock and Ready to Ship