The Listener's Companion
Rollover image for closeup

The Listener's Companion

Item #: HL.00336179

Our Price:

No Rating Unrated ( Be the first to review this item )

Written by Nicolas Slonimsky. Edited by Electra Yourke.

The Great Composers and Their Works. Omnibus Press. With Softcover. 7x10 inches. 350 pages. Published by Schirmer Trade Books. (HL.00336179)

Free Shipping on this item in orders above $199

In Stock
Usually ships within 1-2 business days

Found in:  Classical Reference Books


Renowned for his literary style as well as his musical scholarship, Nicolas Slonimsky wrote many program notes and articles for newspapers and other periodicals, in addition to his well-known books. These shorter writings, edited by Slonimsky's daughter, Electra Yourke, are collected for the first time in this excellent introduction to the classical repertoire, from Bach to Shostakovich. Arranged chronologically by composer, the chapters begin with biographical sketches and go on to describe some of each composer's most popular and imporant works.

Over 140,000 Items In Stock and Ready to Ship