John Coltrane Plays Coltrane Changes
Rollover image for closeup

John Coltrane Plays Coltrane Changes

Item #: HL.00672493

Our Price:

No Rating Unrated ( Be the first to review this item )

by Hal Leonard

As performed by John Coltrane. Arranged by Masaya Yamaguchi.

C Instruments. Artist Transcriptions. Authentic note-for-note transcriptions. 9x12 inches. 88 pages. Published by Hal Leonard. (HL.00672493)

Free Shipping on this item in orders above $199

In Stock
Usually ships within 1-2 business days

Found in:  Jazz Saxophone Transcriptions


In the late 1950s, John Coltrane composed or arranged a series of tunes that used chord progressions based on a series of key center movements by thirds, rather than the usual fourths and fifths of standard progressions. This sound is so aurally identifiable and has received so much attention from jazz musicians that it has become known as Coltrane's Changes. This book presents an exploration of his changes by studying 13 of his arrangements, each containing Coltrane's unique harmonic formula. It includes complete solo transcriptions with extensive performance notes for each. Titles include: Body and Soul · But Not for Me · Central Park West · Countdown · Fifth House · Giant Steps · Summertime · and more.

Songs Include:

  • 26-2
  • Body And Soul
  • But Not For Me
  • Central Park West
  • Countdown
  • Exotica
  • Fifth House
  • Giant Steps
  • Grand Central
  • Limehouse Blues
  • Satellite
  • Summertime
  • Summertime
  • The Night Has A Thousand Eyes

Over 140,000 Items In Stock and Ready to Ship